share_link: https://notesx.azraftaohid.me/ke09k730 share_updated: 2026-08-26T09:32:20+06:00

  1. River Morphology
    1. NDWI
      1. Procedure (2013)
      2. Procedure (2026)
    2. Find out Total Erosion
      1. Find out Unchanged Area or Common Area
      2. Calculate Erosion/Aggredation
      3. Overly Erosion
      4. Overly Accretion
      5. Calculate Erosion/Accretion
    3. Prepare Output on Excel
    4. Bar Computation (Manual Method)
      1. Compute Change in Area
      2. Summerize on Excel
      3. For Exam

River Morphology

NDWI

B3-B5B3+B5

Procedure (2013)

  • Add .TIF files from 2013
  • Open ArcToolbox:
    • Spatial Analyst Tools > Math Algebra > Raster Calculator
    • Apply above mentioned formula:
      Float("LC08_L2SP_138043_20131215_20200912_02_T1_SR_B3.TIF"-"LC08_L2SP_138043_20131215_20200912_02_T1_SR_B5.TIF")/Float("LC08_L2SP_138043_20131215_20200912_02_T1_SR_B3.TIF"+"LC08_L2SP_138043_20131215_20200912_02_T1_SR_B5.TIF")
      
    • OK
  • Add the .shp file
  • Make the added shape file hollow and add boundary
  • Select areas of interest from the shape file (hold SHIFT), then export as shape file and add the selected features
  • Spatial Analyst Tools > Extraction > Extract by Mask:
    • Input Raster = exported composite file (lc08...)
    • Feature mask data = StudyArea
    • Done
  • Hide/remove non-required layers
  • Open Properties > Symbology > Stretched of Extract_lc082:
    • Stretch type = Custom
    • OK
  • Spatial Analyst Tools > Reclass > Reclassify:
    • Input raster = Extract_lc082
    • Classify > use 2 (rest default)
    • OK
  • Change symbology of Reclass_Extr1 with white and blue colors
  • Conversion Tools > From Raster > Raster to Polygon:
    • Input raster = Reclass_Extr1
    • Choose an appropriate output name: ...
  • Select river by selecting on a point of the river
  • Exported polygon > Data > Export; use appropriate name, e.g., ShpRiver2013

Procedure (2026)

  • Same as 2013

Find out Total Erosion

  • Open Attribute Table of ShpRiver2013
  • Add field: Area_2013; type = double
  • Calculate geometry: area, hec
  • Perform the above three steps for ShpRiver2026

Find out Unchanged Area or Common Area

  • Geoprocessing > Intersect:
    • Input Features = ShpRiver2013, ShpRiver2026
    • Rename with UnchangedArea
  • Calculate area of generated layer: Unchanged_Area

Calculate Erosion/Aggredation

  • Erosion = NextYearArea - UnchangedArea
  • Accretion = PrevYearArea - UnchangedArea

Overly Erosion

  • Analysis Tools > Overlay > Erase:
    • Input = ShpRiver2026
    • Erase = UnchangedArea
    • Name = Erosion

Overly Accretion

  • Analysis Tools > Overlay > Erase:
    • Input = ShpRiver2013
    • Erase = UnchangedArea
    • Name = Accretion

Calculate Erosion/Accretion

  • Calculate geometry: Erosion_Area; Accretion_Area

Prepare Output on Excel

...


Bar Computation (Manual Method)

  • Create new shape file Bar2013 and Bar2026 using Arc Catalog. Use coor of ShpRiver2013.
  • Start editing > create features for Bar2026
  • Draw by following ShpRiver2026
  • Do the same with Bar2013
  • Open attribute tables and add B2026_Area, B2013_Area

Compute Change in Area

  • Intersect to obtain unchanged
  • Erase with unchanged

Summarize on Excel


For Exam

  • On certain year, whether erosion occurred more or accretion
  • Summarize on Excel

...


![[Pasted image 20260825090756.png]]

![[Pasted image 20260825090804.png]]

⇪