Epanet | Pipe Network Distribution Network

Procedures

  • Project > Defaults: Set as seems logical
    • ID Labels: Prefixing isolates incremental group
    • Hydraulics: Flow units = CMH; Headloss formula = H-W
    • Properties:
      • Pipe length: Use default of which length comes the most on network; then modify others.
      • Pipe roughness:
      • Pipe diameter: For flow unit CMH -> pipe dia in mm; use most commonly occured value
  • Insert Junction: Junction AKA node;
  • View > Options > Notation:
    • Display Node ID's: check
    • Display Link ID's: check
  • Connect nodes with "Add Pipe" option
  • To connect curved pipe: click on intermediate positions of curvature. Select the roughly drawn pipe then use the "Select Vertex" option to refine curvature.
  • Pipe direction matters - draw in the direction of flow.
  • Pump curve:
    • Create curve 1 from Browser > Data > Curves; use flow = 600; head = 150. Then assign this curve to pump
    • May create another curve similar way and switch from pump properties
  • Use the "Run" option from toolbar to perform run.
  • Report > Table:
    • Use "Network Nodes" to view node outputs
    • Columns: Head, Pressure
    • Use the "Filters" tab to filter based on criteria; such as Pressure Above 1 (Click "Add")
  • Display node and link values: View > Options > Notations
  • Then, Browser > Map: Nodes = Pressure; Links = Velocity
⇪